kate’s Top 10 Autumn Playlist Essentials

Autumn Playlist (blog post).jpg

There’s only one thing I love more than my dogs, and that’s the season of Autumn.

Previous to living in Florida for the last two years, I spent eight years of my life living in a small town in the tiny state of Vermont. It was the highlight of my adolescence for sure – mainly due to the fact of how beautiful it was during fall. Apple/pumpkin picking, cold weather, leaf piles, HALLOWEEN… needless to say, it’s been my favorite season ever since I can remember.

One of the most vital components to celebrating autumn, in my opinion, definitely has to be music. You can’t have autumn without a playlist of songs that make you feel homey, cozy, and warm, while it’s quite chilly outside. (Or, if you live in Florida like I do as well now, of course it’s still warm outside. There’s never a time where it’s not warm. Nonetheless, you still should celebrate autumn to the fullest by dressing in comfy sweaters and drinking hot chocolate. Don’t succumb to the heat.)

So without further adieu, here’s the top ten songs that I’ve included in my playlist this year.

I. Work Song – Hozier
I’m not going to lie to you, I love Hozier beyond belief. I found out about his music during sophomore year of high school from a friend whose job was to constantly introduce me to new music. At this time, Hozier’s hit “Take Me to Church” was blowing up and no one else really knew that he wrote or sang anything else besides that. Work Song was the second song I heard of his and my goodness is it a good song to relax to. Especially for autumn purposes.

II. Only – RY X
I’ve only recently discovered RY X about a month ago through Spotify. As soon as I heard this one, it automatically went to basically every playlist I’ve ever made. His voice is immensely captivating – I like listening to it after I wake up, make coffee, and force myself to be productive in the mornings.

III. Blood and Roses – The Smithereens
The bass line in this song is excellent and fricking addictive. I’m mainly attached to this song both because of said bass, and because of the story that’s conveyed throughout the lyrics. This is definitely one of those songs that make you want to dance around your house idiotically while you’re wearing a big t-shirt and no pants.

IV. Hey You – Pink Floyd
This song was added to the playlist through a personal experience, but despite that, I think it still fits in with the cozy autumn vibe. It’s definitely one of my favorite Floyd songs.

V. Rain in the Afterlife – Foreverinmotion
I can’t even begin to describe this song to you and the importance it has to me. Just do yourself a favor and listen to it immediately. The album this song is featured on, Transients, is no longer available on Spotify or iTunes. However, if you search Foreverinmotion on Bandcamp, you’re able to purchase the album either digitally or physically. It’s also available through YouTube.

VI. Witchcraft – Frank Sinatra
Anyone who doesn’t love the sound of Frank Sinatra’s voice is insane. This song is a classic. That’s it.

VII. Jesus Christ – Brand New
Jesus Christ is a superb song to listen to when you’re stuck inside due to the weather. It’s both reflective and serene – even if you don’t identify as Christian and relate to the song in that sense.

VIII. Für Elise – Beethoven
Come on, you can’t have autumn without some sole piano every now and again. Especially if it’s Beethoven.

IX. Lovesong – Kevin Devine
I know, I know – it’s a cover. I prefer the original by The Cure, of course, but this cover is fantastic and captures a soothing essence more than the original did. Just give it a chance. His voice is wonderful and he did a fantastic job of covering The Cure.

X. Dark Side of Me – Coheed & Cambria
Compared to the other songs listed thus far in the list, this is nothing like those. Coheed & Cambria have a very unique style and sound. “Dark Side of Me” doesn’t sound like it should fit in this list but believe me, it does. I love the story behind it, I love the singer’s unique voice (although others may argue and say that it’s a bit odd and annoying after a while), and I love the additional dialogue at the ending. It adds more mystery and makes the listener think. It’s good for those gloomy, nostalgic-filled autumn days.

I hope, through this post, you were able to find some new songs to add along to your autumn playlist as well. If interested, you can follow the playlist I’ve made on Spotify that features all of these and tons more. I’ll leave a link at the bottom for those that want to give it a shot!

What are your favorite songs to listen to during fall?

Happy Pumpkin Spice Season,
– kate.

Spotify ↯
https://play.spotify.com/user/kann_22/playlist/2ZeUuW6wUpgFxmwEzNNGgF

Leave a Reply

