Chat-tea [I]

chat-tea-1

I’m very tired of celebrating Autumn in Florida, where there is one season and that season is humidity hell. But is that going to stop me from bringing the festivity to the fullest with hot chocolate and cozy sweaters? Of course not.

It’s currently 10:14 in the morning – I’m drinking tea, rubbing sleep out of my eyes every five minutes, and finding ways to pass the time until I have to leave for work. There’s a lot on my mind at the moment so I figured, why not make a blog post? Consequently, here I am: feeling a bit… chat-tea. Get it? It’s a play on words. It’s very witty, in my opinion, and I’m very proud of it.

There’s so much I want to do with my life before I make it to college next Autumn, where I’ll (hopefully) be going for Video Game Design. So every day I’ve constantly been drawing and working to earn some extra cash for when that time rolls around. Other than that, however, there is a lot I want to do before that time. And I mean a lot.

Before I lived in Florida, I lived in a couple of small towns in Vermont. As of lately I’ve been feeling nostalgic to the point where the only thought on my mind is, “I have to go back.” I miss the sound of crunching leaves and the taste of maple sugar candy (which is the best taste in essentially the entire world of sweets), and the vibe of small town life mixed with mass amounts of nature. This is going to sound odd, and many people probably won’t be able to relate to this, but I’ll explain it as best as I can: sometimes I’ll come across a song I once heard years ago, or a smell I haven’t experienced in a long time, and suddenly it’s like I’m thrown to a different point in my life and, for a brief moment, I feel the way I once felt. It’s like I can feel how I’ve grown and shaped differently. Right now, I want nothing more than to feel like how I once felt again. It’s like an adult reminiscing about their childhood and suddenly wanting to go back – except for me. I’m an adult wanting to go back about three years rather than eight or ten. Does this make sense? Am making sense? This all made so much sense in my head and, now that it’s typed out, it sounds kind of silly.

While we’re somewhat on the topic of travelling, there are two other places I desperately want to work towards visiting – Salem, Massachusetts and Copenhagen, Denmark. It’s pretty much impossible that I’ll be able to visit either before the time college rolls around, but it’s so nice just thinking about. I’ve been to Salem twice (or three times?) throughout my life and it doesn’t ever cease to amaze me. Especially around Halloween, a.k.a the absolute best time of year. (Don’t tell my mom I said that – she’s a madman when it comes to Christmas.) I haven’t been back there in a very, very long time and another trip is immensely overdue. When it comes to Denmark, however, I’ve never actually been there – but I have some friends over that way and I get so jealous seeing their daily lives play throughout Snapchat and Facebook.

Onto another topic, but still related to the overarching theme: tattoos. I’m obsessed when it comes to body modifications, despite the fact I only have my ears pierced and a cartilage piercing in my left ear. My family isn’t very keen on the idea of tattoos or piercings – they prefer minimalist tattoos/modifications that you can hide any time you want. When it comes to myself, however, I adore it. Like I mentioned, I don’t have any tattoos yet. So as of lately, that’s been a prominent thought in my head. What do I get for my first tattoo? Where do I get it? Needless to say, I spent about a good two hours last night trying to plan everything out. This involves Pinterest boards and sketchbooks full of doodles/names of artists I would love to ink me. I’m kind of leaning towards the idea of a small Daruma doll on my left collarbone, giving it one eye and creating the other later after I complete a goal. It’s unique and very personal, and I think a good way to get my foot in the door of body art. If you’re reading this and have body modification stories, or want to share what you eventually want to get or what you already have, don’t be afraid to leave your thoughts down in the comments. I love reading about other’s perspectives/experiences.

This blog post was a bit longer than I expected it to be, but I hope you enjoyed reading the thoughts that were bubbling around my brain box this morning.

Stay rad, kiddo.
-kate.

Leave a Reply

